image hosted by lucky designs
Current : Archives : Rings : E-Mail : Book : Notes : Profile : Lucky Design : Host

2005-02-02 | 11:19 p.m.
<< My Labor Experience... >>


Wednesday...

So I never got a chance to write my "labor" experience...and I figured since Cadence is in the living room hanging out on her daddy's chest, now would be the best time to do so...

Wednesday night, January 5th, I just felt...I dunno...weird. Like she was coming soon. I've been feeling light contractions all day, but then again...I've been feeling light contractions for about a whole month...

Anyway, at about midnight, the contractions started coming every 13 minutes at first...and then it started getting closer...and harder...and it didn't go away like it usually did...by 3 in the morning, they were 6 minutes apart...I went to the bathroom to pee, and there was blood in the toilet and in the toilet paper...

So I told Bryan that I think we should go to the hospital...

So off we went...and they connected me to the baby monitor...and another one to monitor my contractions...then the dr. checked to see how far I've dialated, and wouldn't you know? I was only at 1 and a half!

So...she sends me home after giving me some sleeping pills and tells me to rest when I can because I'll need it (Yeah, right! How easy would that be with my contractions coming every freakin' 5 minutes???)...

So I go home...take the medicine...which only knocked me out in between contractions...but once those suckers came, I woke right up...

By 10, I didn't think I could take it anymore, so we went back to the hospital...they did the same routine...the dr. checked my cervix...and I was already completely effaced by then...but still dialated to the same 1 and a freakin' half....

So...they sent me back home yet again...

I labored all of Thursday at home...with my contractions still coming every 5 minutes...and getting stronger and stronger as time passed by...

Bryan tried to get me to eat something...but with all that pain, I just COULDN'T...

I tried the labor positions they taught me at birth class...but I was still in pain...

By about 6 p.m....my water broke while Bry was in the shower...

As soon as he got out, I told him and we went back to the hospital...

This time, they kept me (thank goodness!)...

And the Dr. had the anesthesiologist give me an epidural within the next 30 minutes...and let me tell ya...I LOVE the genius who invented those things!!!

Only after I got the epidural did I manage to get any sleep...

They also gave me Pitocin that night to speed up my labor and make me dialate faster...since it seemed that I was stuck at one and a half...

And of course...with my luck...the Pitocin didn't work...they gave me that thing all night and I had only gone up to 2 centimeters...

They upped the Pitocin dosage like 3 times...to no avail...and the baby was getting tired...they had already given me 3 dosages of epidurals the entire night since it kept wearing off...

So...the Dr.'s decided that if I hadn't dialated enough by 9 in the morning on Friday, I would have to undergo a C-Section...

They gave me another hour and a half after that...and by the time they checked me at 10:30 in the morning, I had only dialated to 4 centimeters...

So...they got everything ready for the C-Section and wheeled me in for surgery at 11:15....

She came out at 11:34 a.m. January 7th...Or should we say...they took her out at 11:34 a.m...I was so woozy...and I kept trying not to fall asleep...but once I heard her angelic little voice, everything else didn't matter but her...

I couldn't even hold her since I was so out of it...I only managed to get a quick kiss before they took her to check her vitals and all that...

Anyway...there goes my labor story...I hope Cadence will appreciate what I had to go through for her!!! I told Bryan not to mention having any more kids at least until after I forget about how this labor experience went...

Anyway, I'm gonna go ahead and hang out with the family...

Good-night!

Before | After

last five

How the stars line up - 08.25.09

2008 already?! - 2008-01-07

Yet another transition... - 2006-09-27

Already been a year... - 2006-09-05

Too late... - 2006-06-30