image hosted by lucky designs
Current : Archives : Rings : E-Mail : Book : Notes : Profile : Lucky Design : Host

2004-03-22 | 4:49 p.m.
<< Kentucky Weekend >>


Monday...

So...where should I start?

I guess with Thursday night...since that's when we left...

Okay, from the very beginning.

Thursday night, we finally left at about 9 p.m....nothing much really happened...we jammed out to some c.d.'s...had the windows rolled down the first few hours of the drive until it started getting chilly...switched off driving...Paula drove first...then Cindy...then me...and we finally got to Ft. Campbell, Kentucky at about 8:30 a.m.....

As soon as we got there, Sandy made us breakfast (yummy!)...we hung around for a little bit...and then we got ready and left to see what Kentucky has to offer...

Running on hardly any sleep...

Sandy drove us around the military base and gave us a tour...and then we went horseback riding...man, that was a blast!

I rode on a tan horse named Sunny. My very first horse ride (I don't count the time I rode on a horse as a little girl with my Daddy riding with me). I was a little scared at first. All kinds of thoughts were runnin' through my mind...like...what if this horse kicks me right off him? What if he starts galloping like crazy? What if I fall off?!...

But it wasn't really all that bad. It actually was kind of fun. And once you get the hang of how to pull the reins to control your horse, everything else is pretty easy. Two main things to remember...when they're going down a steep hill, lean back. When they're going up a steep hill, they run so crouch forward and hold on...if they go too fast, grab a hold of their hair. We went through the woods...went through trails...saw some extremely pretty scenery...some rivers and stuff...it was really very relaxing. It was so much fun. I'm actually thinking about looking around online to see if they do stuff like that over here...that way we can go horseback riding on "perfect-weather" weekends...

After that, we went to their "food court" at the base and got something to eat...and then we bought some alcohol for the night...and finally got back to Sandy's at about 5. Took a shower after that...and then took about an hour nap before we got back up and started getting ready for the night...

Friday night...Jose (Sandy's husband) just had some friends over...and we played some dominoes and drinking games and hung out...

After that, we wanted to go somewhere so we grabbed one of Jose's friends as our tour guide :-) and left...Jose calls him Kingsbury (Ya know how these military guys call each other by their last names) but we call him Jake. He was pretty cool...he wanted to stop by his apartment so we can meet his room mate, and we ended up just staying there the entire night...

His room mate was so sweet...and he has the prettiest accent ever...I'd like to say he's from Boston (I think that's what he said)...but I'm not sure. But I'd poke Cynthia with my elbow every time he says a word that ends with an "R" (like "over there" sounds like "ova thea")...so cute! They call him "Murphy" (Again with the last name deal) but I call him Bryan. We ended up staying the night there because there were some drama going on back at the house with Jose (probably had too much to drink) and it was cute, because Bryan offered to give up his bed for us and sleep on the couch (Awww)...he even gave all three of us some shirts and pajama bottoms to sleep in (they were huge and comfy)...I felt even worse because I fell asleep on the couch while watching "The Crow: City of Angels" and he ended up falling asleep on the floor since Cynthia fell asleep earlier and was already in his room...

I told him, "You should have woken me up and told me to go to the room...I feel bad kicking you off your bed first, and then kicking you off the couch." And he says, "That's alright. You looked so cute I just couldn't wake you up."

Anyway, we finally left from there at about 10 the next morning and then we went and grabbed breakfast and then went back to Sandy's...

Saturday rained ALL FREAKIN'DAY...we had plans of riding the horses again, but the weather didn't let us...so we ended up going to Dunbar Cave. Okay...this one didn't go as smooth for me. When we looked it up in the pamphlets...it said it was a "tour"...I didn't realize it was a freakin' hike. On top of that, we were supposed to have made some reservations...and they didn't call us back, so I didn't think we were going anymore. So...I wore boots. Not just any boots, boots with HEELS. Yeah, not a very bright idea for a HIKE. It would have been fun, had I worn the right shoes...and seeing as that didn't happen...I was almost falling off my ass. On top of that, I got mad at Sandy and Cynthia because they were laughing at me and I was already frustrated enough as it is...And...it didn't stop there. My battery on my flashlight was running low, so I couldn't even see that well with it. Paula finally switched with me after I started getting frustrated. Ugh...that was NOT fun!

I would want to do it again, though...wearing the right shoes, of course...just so I can actually enjoy it this time around...

It really would have been pretty cool...there were formations and stuff from the ceiling...living bats (Ewww)...and pools of clear water...some of them are so clear you would think it was only a couple of inches deep, but the tour guide had said that they were a few feet deep...

After that, we went to the mall and I finally made up with Cindy and Sandy...

From there, we went home...took a two hour nap...and woke up to get ready once more for the club...

We ended up going to some club called "Kickers"...the sign outside said "4 clubs in one"...but I only saw 3...One Country (Ugh) downstairs...and a hip-hop room upstairs...and a karaoke bar downstairs...

We stayed in the hip-hop room the entire time and just had a BLAST. So I met a boy there (Jose's friend)...everybody calls him "Fauls" but I call him Peter :-). He's another sweetie. I ended up dancing with him for most of the night. He was one of my two "focal-points." I didn't get to meet my other one...though we've caught eyes a few times...but neither one of us bothered to do anything about it.

Okay...so on to Peter (I just wish he had another name...cause my brother-in-law's name's Peter)...he has a really pretty face...and a really pretty smile...and we really hit it off...

Too bad he's stationed in Kentucky and lives in Washington State. :-(

After the club, he went with us to Sandy's and Jose's and we watched "Old School." That's such a funny movie and I laugh every single time I watch it! It never fails!

Anyway, the girls crashed as soon as we got there...and Sandy and Jose stayed downstairs watching the movie with us for a while...and then they left us and went to bed...

So there we were...watching the movie...and he just starts playing with my hair and cuddling me...it was so sweet...

And yes, we kissed...

And it was sweet...the entire night reminds me of an episode from "The Bachelorette" with Trista and Ryan (The episode when they stayed in the hotel suite just kissing and cuddling all night)...Yeah, that's what we did. We just hugged and talked and cuddled and played nosies. It was really sweet. And like I've said before, too bad he lives way over there...

So the question I've been asking myself all day yesterday and all day today is..."Why can't I find that here?!"

Anyway, I talked to him on the way home yesterday...and he asked when I was coming up again...and I just wish I knew...I really did have an awesome time...

I talked to Bryan before we left as well...and he and Kingsbury (Jake) are going to plan a road trip over here so we can show him what Dallas is all about...

I told Peter the same thing...that would be cool...

Anyway, we left from there at about 11 yesterday morning and got here at about 9:30 last night (Okay, so we were speeding just a little bit...but we were tired and we wanted to get home already!)...

So...today...I've just been out of it...from having too much fun (is that possible?) and lack of sleep...

I took some pictures from the horseback riding thing...

I'll probably post them up tomorrow...

Okay, gonna end it here for now...

Bye.



Before | After

last five

How the stars line up - 08.25.09

2008 already?! - 2008-01-07

Yet another transition... - 2006-09-27

Already been a year... - 2006-09-05

Too late... - 2006-06-30