image hosted by lucky designs
Current : Archives : Rings : E-Mail : Book : Notes : Profile : Lucky Design : Host

2003-11-12 | 11:11 a.m.
<< Memory Lane.... >>


Wednesday...

Beannie and I were supposed to go running last night...so we drove to the track...but all the lights were off. So we checked out our old Middle School to see if their track was open...and it turns out it wasn't...

So then I had this crazy idea...I told Beannie that I was just going to drive by our old house...in Elm...just to see it...just to remember...and it was fun...

We passed by our old High School...and we started playing "remember when"...it was like I saw myself walking the same streets I used to walk with my friends and my sister...going to school...going home from school...I remember when Richard used to pick me up after my dance practice and he'd walk me home....One time he picked up a flower from someone's back yard and surprised me with it. Then we passed through this store we used to walk to...it used to be called "Tick-Tock"...and now it's a gas station called Conocco. I remember when I'd send Richard and Beannie walking whenever I'd crave something. One time...it looked like it was about to rain...but they went, anyway. We had this Raincoat with a matching umbrella stashed away somewhere...and Richard wore the raincoat and Beannie used the umbrella...and they walked to Tick-Tock that way....they looked cute. :-)

And then we passed by our old house...and I saw our "window"...the window we used to sneak out of...and we remembered when Beannie used to stack a bunch of pillows on my bed and put the covers over it everytime I'd sneak out with Richard...and then I remember the front lawn...where Ricard and I were sitting by...and he gave me my star...

The white trimmings we placed around the trees were still there...and the flowers that Beannie planted were still there...We drove through the back alley...and saw our driveway...where we would play water fights on hot summer days...Richard...Beannie...Elena...Me...and the picture's so clear...it's like I was actually seeing myself there...

We drove through the whole neighborhood and remembered the Halloween nights we'd all go trick or treating...or when Elena, Beannie, and I went around the neighborhood selling fund raising stuff for our dance team....or the times I'd just walk around there when I'm mad and Richard would come running after me....

We went by the old Country Club...where we went one Halloween night and parked the car by the lake. Karen...Richard...Beannie...and I. We had just come from some Haunted House and all of us agreed that it wasn't scary at all...so we wanted to do something fun. So we went there....and it was dark...we parked the car in front of the lake and told ghost stories...and Richard thought he saw something moving by the lake and we all scared ourselves shitless...

Then we went further back in time....we passed by our old Middle School...and our old apartments where we lived when we were kids...where we used to go walking to....Beannie's old elementary school...the old Basketball court we used to go to hang out with our friends and flirt with the boys...that's where I met my very first boyfriend...the very first boy who broke my heart and made me cry...

And we passed by Elena's mom's house...where we used to go walking to sometimes...Elena, Karen, Beannie, and I...the house still has the light blue trimmings. Her brothers painted it that color because that was her favorite color....we drove by the fields where we used to go walking to after school...and I told Beannie that it seemed like we used to walk everywhere! :-)

I saw us...all of us...walking and playing around...laughing...and I had this sudden urge to call them and find out what's going on...to tell them that I miss them...I missed what we were....and I wished everything could go back to those simple days....

It was fun...going back and remembering. It was like seeing us actually being there...feeling the warmth of everything...I told Beannie that we should do that more often...that it's good for the soul. :-)

Before | After

last five

How the stars line up - 08.25.09

2008 already?! - 2008-01-07

Yet another transition... - 2006-09-27

Already been a year... - 2006-09-05

Too late... - 2006-06-30